No mundane Mondays around here

Mondays may be the busiest day of the week for me, if not our entire family. It’s our CC day, and from wake-up before dawn til late in the afternoon, it’s go, go, go. I realize that many people live that way every day and have much busier lives and schedules than we do, but for our universe, the Monday schedule is probably the craziest.

Even into our sixth year, we all love the CC program and I’m continually thankful we found it. And now, seven weeks into directing, I can say I’m glad I accepted the position. There are several aspects I had no idea I was getting myself into (um, like plunging toilets and mopping floors at least once a week), but the benefits have far outweighed the risks. I’m thankful for the chance to lead the group and get to know families better both in and outside of our class day, and I am being stretched in ways I couldn’t have imagined. But mostly, it’s refreshing to know that it’s not because of me and me alone that our campus runs so smoothly. I appreciate how my own kids step up and help out, even when they’d rather be doing something else, but I also am continually amazed by everyone else’s willingness to work and jump in to make the days run well. While I may not ascribe to the “it takes a village to raise a child,” I can certainly attest to the fact that it takes a village to clean up after 80 of them every Monday!

By Monday evenings, I am flat out exhausted. When I tutored, I used to come home mentally worn out, but now I think I’m more physically so. There are new challenges every week, it seems, but many more joys in coming together with friends and fellow homeschoolers to work towards the same end of educating our kids.

And trying to sneak in a few minutes of mom-conversation between the activities of the day.

I probably had other encouraging comments to make, but Todd just started NewsRadio, and my brain is just about out of juice.

Until tomorrow, good night!

Leave a Reply

