Therapy is only a few ingredients away…

 

IMG_5456

 

A couple days ago, our neighbors across the street begin a major kitchen remodel, and will be without the necessities for a few weeks.  Without cabinets, countertops, a stove, or a kitchen sink, cooking dinner will be impossible.  So since today is a work-around-the-house day trying to tackle a procrastinated project or two, I thought it would be a nice gesture to take them a hot meal to break up the take out or restaurant food they’ll be eating for a while.   Dinner was an easy choice: one of my favorite meals to take to anyone is chicken pot pie.  It’s been in my rotation for years, and I’d be hard pressed to find another that is so easy and so delicious.  If you’d like to check out the recipe, look here.

With dinner decided, I began to search for a dessert to add to the pot pie.  After perusing Pinterest for a while and not finding anything I liked, I turned “old school” and did a google search.  Whoa.  I know it sounds archaic (and maybe even a a little bit frightening), but this time it worked out just fine.  I searched for something crazy: apple zucchini muffins (in my haste, I may have typed in zuchhini the first time, but I quickly saw my mistake and corrected it).  Lots of choices popped up, but after filtering through the recipes that called for ingredients I didn’t have, I finally settled on the choice that only needed one substitution.  I do not make it a habit to keep buttermilk in the house, but mostly because the sub is so easy.  Lemon and juice and milk? I almost never am without those two staples.  So I stirred that up to let it process while beginning on the other prep work.

The first job was shredding the zucchini.  Not a difficult task, but it did need to drain out some of that pesky zucchini juice.  (eeeeeew)  This is one of the many times when I am so thankful for my food processor.  The thought of shredding my knuckles on a hand grater just sends chills up and down my spine.

Hand grater.  How ironic.

IMG_5452

 

After that, it was time for the apples, and another wonderful kitchen tool.  My slicer peeler corer tool has saved us hours of those tedious tasks.  If you’d like your own, look here.  Once the apples were chopped, I knew I had to work quickly.  Brown apples, who needs ’em?

The rest of the recipe mixed together in a rather predictable fashion.  I mean, really, there are only so many different ways you can combine flour, sugar, eggs, oil, flavoring, etc.  to make delicious baked goodness.

IMG_5453

 

See? Not that complicated.  The hardest part is making sure not to overmix the batter.  It’s always a bit unnerving to me.  On the one hand, it needs to all be mixed together, but on the other, I’m left wondering, “Did I stir one too many times? How will I know?”

I’m just kidding.  It really doesn’t take that much out of me.

Once it’s mixed but not overmixed, into the tins it goes.  Cruising right along….

 

IMG_5455

 

They smelled wonderful while baking, and in 25 short minutes, they were ready to remove from the oven.  Lovely.

For the sake of a blog picture, I had to break one open to take a good shot.  (The things I have to do…)  As a result, Andrew and I taste tested one and they were delicious.   The apple flavor and texture add a lot to these treats.   Hopefully the neighbors will enjoy them as well!

It’s been a productive day so far:  Patrick tackled the job of sifting through his clothes (many of which he’s outgrown), and the two youngest kids worked on cleaning out the “secret room” downstairs.  Todd’s holed up in his office laboring on accounting, the middle boys are at a bible quiz event, and Hannah is working today.  We’re all keeping busy.

Happy Saturday, everyone!

 

IMG_5457

 

***Apple Zucchini Muffins***

2 1/4 cups  flour
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tablespoon oil (melted coconut oil, canola oil, or vegetable oil)
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup grated apple
1/2 cup grated zucchini, moisture slightly squeezed out
1 cup chopped peeled apple

topping ingredients:
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with paper liners or spray with cooking spray. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and all-spice. In a small bowl, whisk together buttermilk, applesauce, oil, egg, and vanilla extract. Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Gently stir in the grated apple, zucchini, and chopped apples.

3. To make the topping, combine sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Stir well.

4. Fill the prepared muffin pan with muffin batter, filling each cup about 3/4 the way full. Sprinkle each muffin with cinnamon sugar topping. Bake for 20 minutes, or until muffins are golden and a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Let muffins cool to room temperature and serve.

Note: I doubled this recipe and the yield was 24 full muffins.  Just sayin’

 

taken from http://www.twopeasandtheirpod.com/apple-zucchini-muffins/

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

