Pumpkin has taken over the world…love it or lump it?

It’s officially fall around here, but even before the weather felt “fallish,” pumpkin was enjoying its usual seasonal popularity.  It’s in coffee, baked goods, and soups (among other things), and it seems to appear just about everywhere.  I will admit that I find pumpkin cravings only wash over me during the cooler months of the year.  Very rarely–if ever–will I dream of a pumpkin pie around Independence Day.  And although I love almost all things baked with pumpkin, I cannot bring myself to drink it. I don’t really care for Pumpkin Spice Latte (Starbucks may revoke my membership now that I’ve publicly stated such offensive language), and for that matter, I don’t relish the thought of any pumpkin-flavored drink.

Show me some grace, though, or convince me why I should even try to drink my pumpkin, especially when it can be found in such delicious treats such as pumpkin bars, pumpkin cinnamon chip bread, and the latest delicious offering I tried: chocolate pumpkin bundt cake.  Apparently I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a year because it showed up in my TimeHop app last week as a recipe I posted last October, and I had also just seen it on someone else’s posting around the same time. It was time, I supposed, to give it a try.  We made it as a dessert to finish out a dinner we brought to a family who recently welcomed a new baby, and all I heard at our house was baby-like belly aching from my own kids as to why I hadn’t made two cakes! Go figure.  Since it was so easy to put together and it smelled and looked really good, I decided to give in to their whining just this once and make one.  You know, it’s for the kids…

It was yumm-o-licious.  I didn’t hear any complaints about it except for the fact that we tried to eat it too soon after it baked.  In that respect, it was much better today than yesterday.  If you have unsweetened chocolate, a can of pumpkin, and a few other baking staples, you too can create this yummy treat.  I recommend it!  One note: since we have nut allergies, I left the pecans out.  Nobody complained (but then again, how would they? They have nothing to compare it to, really.)

So what say you…Are you a fan of all things pumpkin?  If yes, do you love it in any form, or are you particular about how you take your pumpkin?  Please, do tell!

 

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cake

3/4 cup butter, softened
1-1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 can (15 ounces) solid-pack pumpkin
1 cup (6 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled
3/4 cup finely chopped pecans, divided

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon; add to the creamed mixture alternately with pumpkin, beating well after each addition. Fold in chocolate chips.

Divide batter in half. Stir melted chocolate into one portion. In a well-greased 10-in. fluted tube pan, sprinkle 1/2 cup pecans. Spoon chocolate batter over pecans; top with pumpkin batter. Sprinkle with remaining pecans.

Bake at 325° for 65-70 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 15 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack. Yield: 12 servings.

 

IMG_5177

Recipe taken from http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/chocolate-chip-pumpkin-cake#ixzz3FPVkAtcN

Leave a Reply

