‘Twas the night before Thanksgiving Feast

I’m completely and utterly exhausted after an incredibly full day of preparation and activity. While my last food item is just about to come out of the oven, I knew that if I didn’t sit down to write something now, I’d collapse before finishing.

Church this morning, then one kid to bible quiz after lunch, then home. Another teen back to church for dance auditions after dinner, then home. More activities at home while they’re gone.

Ten pounds of potatoes, mashed and in the crock pot for tomorrow. Mac and cheese ready to be rewarmed in the morning. Chicken and rice soup chilling in the fridge (in retrospect, making dinner for another family for tomorrow probably wasn’t my best idea, but I knew I could deliver it to them at CC, thus saving myself another trip. And it’s done now, so it worked out just fine). Biscuits are finishing up in the oven now.

We somehow managed to pull our costumes together, and while they aren’t the most creative ideas ever, it will be a clever play on words, and the kids are all excited about it. If nothing else, they certainly look hilarious. No pictures tonight, however, so we can keep it under wraps. I will give a big shout out to the dollar store, though, who helped us meet our costume goals while staying under budget.

The last day of our CC community semester is upon us, and like so many other people and their life events, I really do not know where the time went between the end of August and tomorrow. I know I was present for every day, and we hammered out the work every day, but looking back, it seemed to just fly by. Just about everything these days feels the same way: so very quickly. Why is that? Are we so busy that we don’t take the time to slow down and enjoy? I really don’t know the answer, but I do know that I’m close to pulling another month off my calendar and staring down the last month of 2013. Yikes!

But for now, I’m OK just to have today finished. Or mostly so. Tomorrow is shaping up to be another fun and full day and I’m excited to see it all play out. Hopefully, it will go slowly enough that we can truly enjoy and soak it all in.

If not, we can always drown ourselves in mashed potatoes and mac and cheese…twelve pounds should be enough to go around…

Leave a Reply

