Isn’t it pasta your bedtime?

I have been trying to think of a recipe worth sharing for a while now, but always seemed to come up short. Little did I realize that I only had to go into my past to remember one of the best recipes someone has ever shared with me! I’ve had this little gem in my repertoire for over a decade (which is a sad realization, really….that can’t mean I’m getting older, can it?!?), and it is a hit every time I make it. It’s an incredibly simple combination of pasta, spinach, tomatoes, and cheese. With just a wee bit of time needed to assemble, the end results are delicious. .

Here’s a combination of the characters, although everything is empty, since I had the bright idea to take a picture after I’d finished.

20131020-201917.jpg

This time, since I needed to make a large amount, I prepared two boxes of rotini pasta, used one whole bunch of fresh spinach, used almost all of a container of shredded parm, asiago, and any other of the variety of cheese, the entire bottle of Italian dressing, and all of the sundried tomatoes. For the usual sized crowd, I would probably halve all of that. Unless, of course, you really really enjoy pasta salad.

Here’s a shot of the completed salad, ready to go in the fridge until tomorrow:

20131020-201949.jpg

Sundried Tomato Spinach Rotini Super Salad

1 lb. pasta (I like rotini best)
.5 bottle zesty Italian salad dressing or other dressing of your choosing
.5 package of sundried tomatoes
1 bunch fresh spinach
7 oz shredded Parmesan, Asiago, and Romano cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta according to package directions; rinse immediately with cold water. Use kitchen shears to cut sundried tomatoes into bite-sized pieces and mix into pasta. Remove stems and tear washed spinach into small pieces and add to pasta (as much as you like; in my opinion, the more the merrier!). Add cheese to your liking, pour dressing over all, and mix everything well. Season with salt and pepper if needed. Refrigerate for a few hours to overnight to incorporate flavors. Stir before serving.

Makes 6-8 healthy servings

Many thanks to one of my longest (notice I didn’t say oldest) bff’s mom, who gave me this recipe oh so many moons ago

Leave a Reply

