Classical Composers Monthly: an entertaining way to learn about the great artists

I’ll admit it: I’ve never done a product review before, so when I was approached by a friend to write one, I was a bit hesitant. Even now, I’m not sure that I’ll do it correctly, but I will share what I’ve learned after looking through her site and what she offers in her service. I’ll give you a hint in case you’re leaning towards not reading to the end: it’s fantastic.

If you’re a homeschooling mom, maybe you’re like me where you can spend the entire day it seems on the basics: reading, writing, and arithmetic (if you’re really like me, the arithmetic can feel like it takes alllllll day just by itself!). What this equates to is that the other subjects, like science projects that have the potential to blow up your kitchen or art projects that may stain your daughter’s favorite shirt somehow get left to the wayside. Or maybe when it comes to teaching the arts, you feel woefully unprepared to share with your children. “Was it Beethoven who was deaf or Mozart?” and “When did the Renaissance Period end?” or “What the heck is a Coda?” are concepts that could cause any otherwise competent homeschooling parent to shrink visibly. Or maybe you feel knowledgeable in the arts and have the desire to share this learning with your children, but you’ve priced materials and the cost of many resources is quite a deterrent.

Although I can’t speak to the science projects and your fear of explosions in the kitchen (or is that still just me?!), I have found a website that helps to take the daunting nature of teaching our kids (and learning ourselves!) about the great artists throughout history and make it enjoyable and engaging. Classical Composers Monthly is a service created by a homeschool mom and her homeschool graduate son in a successful attempt to bring the arts to the masses–simply and effectively.

With a paid subscription, each month an email detailing the chosen composer will come to your inbox. It will lead you to a wealth of information about the composer of the month, including but not limited to biographies, ebook links with more information, performance playlists of the artist’s works, assignment ideas, activities and worksheets, and more. The beauty of this is that it’s been done for you. All you have to do is access it and begin allowing your children to learn. And hey, who doesn’t like making the homeschooling day easier? I also really appreciate that Erica has committed to making the information family-friendly whenever possible. It doesn’t take a college degree to know that some art history is fraught with scandal and inappropriateness, but it should be our responsibility as parents to decide when our children are old enough to handle that content. To that end, there will be a warning if anything even remotely objectionable appears in any month’s episode. Good to know, considering you could turn on the TV at any time of day and not have that peace of mind!

You shouldn’t take my word for it, though. If you click here, you can sign up for the Handel resource list FREE to investigate the website. In no time, you’ll be listening to Handel’s Water Music and other fabulous pieces. It’s worth checking out!

And would any review be worth its salt if I didn’t throw in a “BUT WAIT! THERE’S MORE!” Nope, it surely would not. With that, I’m pleased to report that the creators of Classical Composers Monthly have recently expanded their repertoire (snort) to include artists. As a member of the new Fine Arts Pages, you will receive printable works from 25 of the world’s best known artists, along with information about each. That in itself if well worth it, but what I think is worth far more is the insight that Erica gives about perhaps the best way to share these works with your kids. Because she’s a homeschooling mom, she knows that just because you have the desire to teach art to your kids doesn’t mean that your children will run in willingly and sit at your feet for hours waiting to devour all the info you give them. Her one simple suggestion is just fabulous: print the pieces and the info that goes with them and post them in a place where children all go and have nothing else to do while they’re there: the BATHROOM! What a fantastic idea! Post one picture a week and see what happens. I absolutely love it.

For more information about the Fine Arts Pages and a freebie, please click here. And for a limited time, the Fine Arts Pages are available for the introductory price of $9.95, so it’s definitely worth having a look-see.

Since we are a social media society, you can also follow CCM on Pinterest by clicking here or Twitter by clicking here to keep up with all the latest updates.

If you’d like to order, you can go directly through this link as well.

ONE LAST ANNOUNCEMENT! I’d like to give away one free Fine Arts Pages membership to one of my readers! To enter, just leave a comment after this post and you will automatically be entered to win this resource. A winner will be chosen on Tuesday, July 9 from all entries. Feel free to share with anyone you think would benefit from a FREE! membership. You must comment on the blog, though, and not through Twitter or Facebook!

The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work.
Emile Zola

I would highly recommend looking into this service for your homeschool. It promises to be an ongoing resource which will provide your children with a wonderful window into the world and works of the great artists.

May your homeschooling efforts be blessed.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrea Rake
    Jul 06, 2013 @ 23:08:04

    Would love to win this! As a homeschool mom with 4 littles I tend to stick to the basics to get the job “done.” But this year we are entering CC so I know this would be a welcome addition!

    Reply

  2. Jill Brown
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 09:28:57

    I’ll enter!! Love the bathroom idea! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  3. John Fennell
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 10:33:43

    What a good Mom and devoted teacher. I would attend your classes anytime !!!!!!!!!   Another well written post!!!!!

    Janice Fennell

    Reply

  4. Stephenie
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 11:10:49

    Love to win this! I have a hard time finding time to teach art and music to my crew!

    Reply

  5. Amy
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 16:23:20

    Great review! I would love to try this with my kiddos!

    Reply

  6. Claire Hanssen
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 10:32:26

    Yes, please!!!

    Reply

  7. Hannah
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 11:01:37

    If the product is a fun as the review, I’m sold! Sounds like a great start for my music-term obsessed kid.

    Reply

  8. Stacey Dattilo
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 12:13:33

    Love your blog…. Love to win… πŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Deborah
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 13:06:04

    Just found you and what a great surprise! Can’t wait to see what else is here but for now, here’s my entry! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. hannahstrang
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 14:28:25

    I’m not a homeschool mom, or a mom at all, but I do have a private music studio and this sounds like it could be used as a great supplemental resource for my kiddos!

    Reply

  11. Lynn Wright
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 17:23:29

    Coming back to read more later. Please enter me in the giveaway. It sounds great! Thanks!

    Reply

  12. bridgett blakeman
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 10:21:22

    Pick me! I love this stuff.

    Reply

  13. Melanie Hanson
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 10:33:09

    Me too! Sounds great.

    Reply

  14. 2pink4blue
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 22:16:23

    ….and the winner of the giveaway is….

    (As chosen by my youngest child in a very scientifically accurate way–folded up pieces of paper in a basket)

    ANDREA RAKE!

    You are the winner!! And everyone cheered for you!!

    Thank you to everyone who entered. I appreciate it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

