My Old Kentucky Home

Mom continues to improve and do well. She got a shower today, and from personal experience after surgery, I know that little else can brighten the spirit quite like a refreshing shower can. I could tell she shared that opinion too, when we stopped by to say goodbye to her this morning on our way out of town. She was out of bed and sitting in a wheelchair, crocheting. Her demeanor looked brighter and she was moving around a bit easier.

Andrew, Chloe, and I visited for a bit before giving hugs and kisses and goodbyes. I wonder how much more improvement will happen between now and when we go back.

It was odd to travel back home with only two kids in the van. I think the last time I did that was 2000. The littlest of the Six Pack did a fine job being fun road-trip-mates and we made it home with only a couple potty breaks and two traffic holdups. Next weekend we will have to do it again, though, so we shall see how that goes.

It was equally odd to leave Ben and Brendan with my dad. It’s been several years since they asked to have one or two of the kids stay with them, but this is a completely different circumstance. I am so hopeful that those three men enjoy their time together and find many things to occupy both their time and minds.

As always, it’s good to be home. Between now and the time we return to Michigan, the days and hours will be at critical mass. I continue to pray for every little bitty detail to be worked out. And this week, that’s a pretty tall order…

Leave a Reply

