“You put WHAT in this banana bread?!?”

I have found an easy way to tell when I’ve reached the ultimate in time wasting activities:  It’s an app called StumbleUpon, “a discovery engine that finds the best of the web,” it proclaims.   How easy can it be? I enter my likes and activities, and the app shows me random websites and blog posts that apply to my interests.  It’s like internet roulette.   Actually, it reveals how short our attention spans have gotten: there are times when the next website doesn’t even have a chance to load before I have decided that I have no interest in it.  On to the next one I go…

On the other hand, I have actually “stumbled upon” some amazing finds while wasting time and avoiding the twenty-seven million other things that remain on my to do list.   Case in point: the recipe I’m posting tonight.  The words “secret” and “ingredient” together caught my eye without even knowing what that ingredient was, but as I read the post further, I was at once intrigued and a bit grossed out by the thought of pairing these two foods together.  Almost dismissing it entirely, I found that I was just too interested in it to toss it aside.

Without dragging it out too much longer….I’ll reveal that the unlikely pairing is banana and avocado in a chocolate bread.  Seriously?

Yep, seriously.  I don’t know if the blogger’s assurance that the two worked together or her tempting pictures were what drew me in, but I decided that I needed to try at least one loaf.

Meijer had an overabundance of bananas one Saturday when I shopped and had them at a reduced price of $.10/lb.  Woot! Avocados were also providentially on sale, so I bought three.  What kind of nut tries a new and strange recipe in triplicate?  THIS nut.  Why make one loaf when you can make three?!

Today was one of those days when I didn’t have time to sit down and waste with StumbleUpon…I had to skirt my jobs by baking!  Dinner was already in the crock pot (a chicken stew that we made on our latest freezer meal day that was smelling so delicious hours before dinner), so how else was I supposed to spend an hour in the kitchen?

My trusty baking buddy Ben was instantly next to me with the question that seems to be ever on the tip of his tongue: “How can I help?”  I had him peel the bananas while I prepared the avocados.  Six bananas and three avocados just barely squeezed into the last crevices of my food processor.  I’ll admit, the first step didn’t look too appetizing:

avobread1

And, to be honest, the end result after processing the two together didn’t look that lovely either!  Chloe walked by as I poured it into a mixing bowl, and exclaimed, “Oh gross! That looks like baby poop!!”  So…perhaps not the best start.  But as far as we had already started and measured and committed, I figured, ‘hey, why not incorporate said baby poop into the sugar, lemon juice, etc. and see what we come up with!’

avobread2

After mixing up the rest of the batter, it looked like we had destroyed our kitchen in a thick chocolatey mess.  The batter is quite thick and quite messy.  Multiply that by three, and there was a lot of clean up after we finished!  Nevertheless, here’s what one loaf pan looked like with the batter about to go into the oven.  Pretty normal-looking, right?   I have to wonder what it would have looked like had it not been for the cooca powder to give it the chocolately hue.  Perhaps I’ll have to experiment with a future loaf sans cocoa just to see.

avobread3

Nevertheless, they baked up nicely and created a lovely aroma throughout the house.  After the appointment time, they had successfully morphed from batter to bread.   Still, though they looked delicious enough, the biggest test was still to come:  the taste test.

avobread4

We all patiently waited until after dinner (as a parent, I suppose I have to set a good example and eat my veggies before dessert….even though this dessert has a veggie in it!…..oh well, didn’t think of that till just now…)

Everyone tried a slice except Andrew, but I’ll forgive him.  I don’t think it was the bread as much as it was he didn’t want anything for dessert (not my kid!).  Everyone else gave it rave reviews.  They all said they couldn’t taste the avocado as a standout.    We all enjoyed it and declared it a hit.

Here’s the last remnant that was left after dinner:

avobread5

 

I have no idea if we can pass this off as health food.  If it helps, I used whole wheat flour.   Do avocados + whole wheat flour = healthy dessert?

Try it for yourself;  we think you’ll like it too!  And perhaps you won’t feel guilty about eating banana chocolate bread…maybe even for breakfast!

(Avocado) Chocolate Banana Bread

1 medium avocado
2 overripe bananas
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cups flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

In a mixing bowl, blend avocado and banana until pureed. Add in sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, lemon juice, and olive oil.  In separate bowl, sift together flour and cocoa powder. While mixer is on low, gradually add flour mixture until well combined. Stir in chocolate chips. Spread batter in greased loaf pan, batter will be thick and sticky.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40-50 minutes, or until knife inserted into close to the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before removing from pan.  Cool completely before slicing.

taken from http://www.semihomemademom.com

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. compelledbymel
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 01:43:48

    Avocado’s are my 17 month old’s favorite food. He would love this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

