Encouragement comes to this tottering fence

This past Sunday one of the pastors at church preached a powerful message.  It was a simple premise, but not without profound truths that I really needed to hear at that particular time.  He spoke on ways to refresh your prayer life.  I’m paraphrasing, but he asked if we were tired of praying the same old things because they were the same old things…  Does it get old to say ‘thanks for today, thank you for my life, please bless my kids, keep us healthy, and please oh please help me not to go crazy over the mess in the kitchen’ day after day?  I’m definitely not advocating anything less than an attitude of gratitude when it comes to everything God has lavished upon us in our lives, and I believe the best way to keep that attitude is to constantly say “thank you.”  But sometimes it becomes monotonous.  Just going through the motions.   I totally get that.   I don’t want my prayer life to be like that, however: stale, flat, or dare I say, meaningless.   Prayer is too great of an honor for us to allow it to be anything less than the amazing ability to talk with the same God who made the universe, yet still cares to have a relationship with us.

Out of the four points Pastor Steve shared with us, the first one stuck with me the most.  He suggested praying the Scriptures.  What a fabulous and fresh idea.   Many of us read the Bible, we learn certain verses, chapters, or even books, but how often do we pray the truths therein?

While I had a quiet moment to myself in the car tonight, driving to the Redbox to return the “it’s never overdue movie,”  I considered what I was going to write on Day 27.  The words “pray the Scriptures” kept coming back to me as I went through the mental list of possibilities.    As I settled on this topic, the question remained as to where to start.   The Bible is a rather large body of work, and although there are logical places to begin (John 3:16, Psalm 23, etc.),  I wanted to be led to where I should start.  So, duh, I asked.  “God, what should I pray?”  Immediately Psalm 62 came to mind.   I was still driving, so it wasn’t until I got back home that I could look it up to see what it said, as I wasn’t familiar with it.   Amazingly, this is what I read:

1Truly my soul finds rest in God;
my salvation comes from him.

2Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.
3How long will you assault me?
Would all of you throw me down—
this leaning wall, this tottering fence?

4Surely they intend to topple me
from my lofty place;
they take delight in lies.
With their mouths they bless,
but in their hearts they curse.
5Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
my hope comes from him.
6Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

7My salvation and my honor depend on God;
he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
8Trust in him at all times, you people;
pour out your hearts to him,
for God is our refuge.

9Surely the lowborn are but a breath,
the highborn are but a lie.
If weighed on a balance, they are nothing;
together they are only a breath.
10Do not trust in extortion
or put vain hope in stolen goods;
though your riches increase,
do not set your heart on them.

11One thing God has spoken,
two things I have heard:
“Power belongs to you, God,
12and with you, Lord, is unfailing love”;
and, “You reward everyone
according to what they have done.”

What an excellent place to start!  If you read my post last night, it wasn’t all that encouraging or uplifting.  Some days are just better than others, which means some days just stink.   Everything seems like a battle–with myself, with others, with my circumstances.   To have this Scripture put into my thoughts was a gift from God Himself.  He does care about the tiniest details in each of our lives, and He does wish to bless us when we ask.   So this is where I will start.   I will pray for the rest that my soul finds only in God, and will declare that power which belongs to Him alone.
Tonight I’m going to bed thankful for the message from Pastor Steve, for ears that were willing to hear, and most of all for a savior who cares about what others may call “the small stuff.”   And now, I feel as though I have new words with which to say so.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanne Flanigan
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 23:08:26

    Oh, Deb, your message just blessed me tonight!!! See I had to work last Sunday and I missed the message.
    …what a message for me this week, to read about….as I have been trying to emotionally manage angry shoppers in the retail environment….they push all the right intimidation buttons just to get a special price, return a stolen item, or pass a husbands check that doesn’t have their own name on it…they rant and rave at the cashier and then smooze with the manager’s to get their way….it has its way of pulling you down as you take all this abuse. So the scripture you wrote down helps me to sit up close to Jesus and feel His comfort and find my identity in Him, not what strangers say that I am.
    Blessings,
    Jeanne Flanigan,
    Cashiering at the local Home Improvement store

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 11:28:25

    Love this, Deb! God is amazing!!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

