Back to the daily grind…

The first Monday after a holiday weekend is rough.  As in, “is that my alarm I hear alREADY?!” rough.  The kids even tried to overthrow me and get at least another day of laziness out of the deal, but it was not to be.   If we’re going to take an honest Christmas break, we need to work hard until that time.   I can’t say I’m not severely tempted to just throw in the towel as well and call it a year, but alas, I have to be the adult.   Adults have to oftentimes do things they don’t really care to do.

Like laundry.

Or cleaning baseboards.

And grocery shopping.

Because….among other things, we do have to eat.

So, even though maybe none of us wanted to get back into the swing of things, we did after a sleepy breakfast and slow moving start.   I guess we ended our day better than we started.  Hey, they all can’t be days to write home about, right?

In semi-related news, when I first woke up this morning, I was thinking about blogging, and got the bright idea to continue writing daily for the month of December.  When else do I get somewhat of a break from school?  There would probably be no better opportunity (except for the summer, but that’s when we spend a lot of time outside and at the pool! Who needs to blog about that every day?!) that I could think of than now.

Then my mind promptly went blank.  As in vacant, empty, vacuous.   There’s nothing to talk about today; what makes me think there’ll be something to share tomorrow?  I haven’t made any new and exciting recipes (although I did go looking in my cookbooks in a flash of bad judgement, thinking I could just post something and pass it off as something I’ve tried).   No such luck.

So as we close this Monday night, perhaps the kids will have a restful night’s sleep, and we will as well.  Perhaps we’ll all wake up early tomorrow, ready to tackle our day with motivation and direction!  Weather permitting, I’ll get a writing idea as well.

Thank goodness the coffeemaker timer is already set and ready to go…. I think I’m going to need all the help I can get!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. thehomeschoolmomblog
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 12:24:43

    I hear you on all counts. May the Lord grant us both patience and peace!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

