No time off, even on Thanksgiving

The thought crossed my mind to take the day off from the daily blogging; after all, it IS a major holiday, right? No one would care if I did or did not blog, right? Everyone is presumably well into their turkey-induced coma (except people like my older brother, who are allergic), and reading is quite possibly the furthest thing from their sleepy minds. But I would know. And I said I would blog every day of November. So here I am.

Of course, on Thanksgiving there is no shortage of ideas to talk about: what am I thankful for? What did we eat today? Are you going to hit the stores for Black Friday this year, and what time are you going out?

We did not have a turkey dinner this year on the actual holiday. Because we did the whole nine yards less than two weeks ago when we were all together, the thought of repeating the entire production was a bit daunting. Instead, we had delicious roast beef sandwiches with a ton of snacks, veggies and fruits, and of course, desserts. Everything was scrumptious and in copious amounts. We have so much leftover, in fact, that we may have to do it all over again on Saturday.

The question remains, though: if turkey wasn’t on the menu, why are we all still so sleepy? 🙂

In any case, as we sit around and visit…or look through the ads for shopping tomorrow…or play on our phones…we have so much to be thankful for. We are here, for one thing. Everyone is healthy–or relatively so. The kids are running around and getting along. What a blessing to be able to share special days with their cousins! We had an abundance of food, in a time when many are hungry. We have homes and jobs and cars. These are things we personally may not think too much of but cannot be thankful enough for. We are so blessed to have the basics. I don’t want my kids to ever take the blessings they have for granted, and I know a large part of that attitude will come from my own. It may be cliche, but I want to live with an attitude of gratitude in all things. The Lord has definitely lavished His blessings upon us, more than we can even thank Him for and definitely more than we deserve.

It has been a good, full day (unless you’re a Detroit Lions fan; then it’s just another year, another disappointment.) These are the ones to remember. Thank You, Lord, for allowing me this life.

And now….are there any desserts left?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ping pong games
    Feb 23, 2013 @ 02:43:55

    I want to to thank you for this great read!! I definitely loved every bit of
    it. I’ve got you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

