Siblings…Unite!

Today was not a very good day. I’ve been told not to go into the details by my lovely daughter, and I am inclined to agree with her. Enough is enough! So instead, I will post two pictures that warm my heart whenever I see them. The first one is from the day before Hannah’s birthday, back in early October. She happened to be gone at a choir retreat, and everyone else jumped at the opportunity to make a birthday sign for her without her finding out. It’s not often that we can pull off surprises around here! They each impressed me by dividing up the work and creating their own designs with minimal arguing. Hannah was properly surprised as well. I love seeing their little (and not so little!) heads bent over, working hard at a common goal.

This picture is from this past Friday. Chloe received two Lego Friends sets as part of her birthday presents, and these three boys sat with her and helped her to put the sets together, being oh-so patient and helpful, without taking over. She was most appreciative. Again, it’s so lovely to see them working together on a project instead of harping at each other (which does happen, and I’d be lying if I tried to convince you otherwise.) Here they are with the finished project:

And lastly, although I don’t have a picture to prove it, I was incredibly thankful when all six of them worked in a group this afternoon to put their costumes together for tomorrow’s Thanksgiving Feast. When I was otherwise indisposed, the older two took over and salvaged our project. We will never learn, it seems, to start much earlier in the semester (even though we’ve had our idea since week 1!), but it will be just fine. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll post some pictures of what they came up with–especially since we don’t want to spoil the surprise!!

Nevertheless, the overall moral I’m taking away from this is that it is more than a blessing to watch my kids come together as one group. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that we have a long way to go still before we’re one big happy family, but it’s scenes like these that warm my heart and encourage me to keep going.

Let us not lose heart in doing good, for in due time we will reap if we do not grow weary. (Galatians 6:9

Leave a Reply

