Keeping it real

So today wasn’t the best of days around here.  All politics aside, it was a perfect storm kind of day.  A couple kids are under the weather, so the morning started off slowly.  I started off slowly this morning.  While recovering from surgery, mornings were a lot more relaxed around here, and sleeping in is one bad habit that seems to be established after nothing more than two days in a row.   It is my dream to jump out of bed every morning before 6 AM, but….so far, not yet.  (Maybe I’ll catch the daylight savings time change in March and try then….)

In any case, it was a day where my kids decided to forget everything we’ve ever studied…EVER.  Andrew suddenly had no recollection of how to borrow in subtraction or what the short vowels sounded like.  (No Mother of the Year Awards handed out for responses to those, I can assure you).  Other craziness ensues with any given subject from any given student.   (The oldest is all but independent, though, so I have no complaints about her.  Actually, she also washed the sheets and blankets for our bed today, so I have nothing but gratitude for her!)

When people say, “I don’t know how you do it,”  I have a guilty wave wash over me.  What if they knew how I sometimes did it?  That I was more or less like a crazy person sometimes who may or may not have showered that day? I admire those who never get upset, who can always keep a level head and give a measured response.  Truth is, I’m not one of them, but I’m trying.  There are days when I get so exasperated, the best thing for me to do is leave the room.  I had serious doubts repeatedly today that I can even do this job.  How could I possibly think I could homeschool six children and prepare them for life outside our home?  If they can’t remember their phonics rules, how will they grasp the *really* important stuff?  Am I completely failing them and keeping them from their potential?

But life is full of “hard things” to do, and this is certainly one of them.  And tomorrow is another day, full of new mercies (thankfully).   Maybe I’ll get up earlier.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 07:59:35

    Deb,
    WOW! This post really ministered to me. I have had these same thoughts about my shortcomings with regard to homeschool lately. Your transparency helped me see that other moms (even you) REALLY do have days like mine!
    Thanks for being willing to share. It was exactly what I needed and I believe the Lord used you today. Love ya!

    Reply

  2. middlewaymom
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 08:54:24

    Ah, I wish I was one of those moms who kept her cool through it all, too! Now my older daughter knows when I’m speaking in extremely measure tones, I’m getting frustrated. Repeating myself has always been a pet peeve… as a homeschool mom, I should get over that. 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Joan Tighe
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 08:58:02

    Great attitude, Deb. his mercies are new every morning and we need them, don’t we?

    Reply

  4. mamacain
    Nov 08, 2012 @ 11:02:27

    Oh man, I can relate ll too well with the “how do you do it” comments. Honestly, a lot of days, I would rather not think about “how I do it”. By gods grace I get through & then start over the next day. Hope today holds better things! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

