Cranberry + Orange = Flavors of Christmas

Today was spent making cookies, Christmas Crack, and a recipe I only seem to think of around Christmastime: Cranberry Orange bread.   It’s easy enough and tastes delicious with a bright citrus flavor.   This time, since I was making it to include with the gifts of goodies we made for Todd’s business friends, I used mini loaf pans instead of the usual size pan.  Thankfully I had good results even though I had to tweak the baking time.  This is definitely a bread I plan to make for us at home in the coming days! Since I spent six hours straight today preparing food with sugar as the main ingredient, I’m exhausted and can’t think of anything creative to add to this post.  Maybe tomorrow.  Maybe after a shot of insulin.

 

Cranberry Orange Bread

2 c. all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 c. butter, softened
1 c. cranberries, chopped
3/4 c. sugar
3/4 tsp. salt
1 tbsp. grated orange peel
3/4 c. orange juice
1 egg
1/2 c. chopped nuts
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease only the bottom of a 9 x 5 x 3 inch loaf pan. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda; stir in butter until mixture is crumbly. Stir in orange peel, orange juice and egg just until moistened; stir in cranberries and nuts. Spread in pan. Bake until wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, about 55-65 minutes. Cool 5 minutes. Loosen sides of loaf; remove bread from pan. Cool completely before slicing.

Note: I tripled the recipe above leaving out nuts and it made ten mini loaves.  Just in case you want to make an army of bread, I thought I’d share that with you.   I baked five loaves at a time for 35 minutes.

 

(taken from www.cooks.com)

 

Leave a Reply

