Don’t let summer slip away before you try this trifle recipe

Aren’t these just beautiful?

I don’t think I could love raspberries any more than I do…

I’ve been trying to post this recipe for the better part of the summer (and technically, until September 23, it still will be). I’ve had some pictures of different ingredients for a while, but never could remember to snap a shot of the finished product before diving in. Part of me hesitates to post this, basically because it will reveal just how lazy I am as a cook. While I enjoy making delicious foods, I don’t really like to work very hard. This recipe fits that description perfectly, but whoever you serve it to will think you slaved away creating the eye (and tummy) pleasing concoction. If you’re like me, though, you’ll assure them that it took no effort whatsoever. In my opinion, don’t be like me: tell them you worked incredibly hard to make it for them.

The versatility of the recipe is wonderful, too. Use whatever fruits you enjoy and whatever is in season.

My personal favorite is raspberries, but strawberries and blueberries add a colorful variation.

Blackberries would work, too, if you’re willing to hand over your first born in order to pay for them. The original recipe calls for angelfood cake, but in making it, I found that the cake breaks down very quickly. Unless you plan on putting it together just before serving, I suggest pound cake. (There’s a reason it’s called pound cake, however, so be warned…I’m sure this is not news to anyone…)

Fruit Trifle

1 family size pound cake, slightly thawed
2 boxes of instant vanilla pudding, prepared according to package directions
Cool-Whip
Fresh berries (raspberry, strawberry, blueberry, blackberry, or any combination of these)

Cut pound cake into bite-sized cubes.

Assemble all other ingredients. From here on, it just gets embarrassingly simple. In a trifle bowl, layer in the following order: cake cubes, pudding, fruit, cool whip. Repeat as many times as your ingredients allow, finishing with a layer of fruit. Garnish with cool whip if desired. Serve immediately or refridgerate until serving.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Cain
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 21:40:21

    Oh yum! I’ll have to have some people over just so I have an excuse to make this 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

