An easy way to avoid unpacking…or cleaning…or laundry…make this Strawberry Apple Pie!

We have been back home from vacation for two days now, and I’m still not unpacked. I loathe unpacking part of vacation, as I’m sure many people do. I’ve even got lots of hands to help me in the job, but I still dislike it greatly. As a result, things are pretty much strewn here and there and in piles throughout our living space. I really need to get on that: before next Thursday, we have to have the entire house cleaned so my new class doesn’t think we’re complete slobs. I need to get all the vacation stuff put back in its place, and return the maternity fair supplies to the closet for another year. Before even starting, I’m daunted.

So what’s a girl to do when the tasks before her loom large? Well, bake a pie, of course! Actually, I should say that the laundry is running while I write and bake, and I am getting closer to tackling the kids’ clothes and taking them downstairs so the kids can hang them up, so some progress has been made. Besides, since our Biggest Loser competition ended at the beach (and we heard the large THUD when we collectively fell off the wagon!), I figure no diet worth its salt starts on a Saturday, so why not squeeze one more dessert hurrah into our lives and make it even more difficult to squeeze into our clothes come Monday?! After winning the Biggest Loser challenge with Todd’s family members, I feel like I should give our prize money back after the horrendous eating habits I displayed while at the beach…… but that’s neither here nor there, I suppose.

In any case, here’s a recipe that I’ve had for years that appealed to me as soon as I first saw it. The combination of tart apples and strawberries is one of my favorites. It surprises me, however, how many people react either surprisedly or skeptically when I mention it. These same skeptics are usually won over after the first bite, so if you too don’t think you’d like the combination in this pie, I urge you to try it anyway. Perhaps make it for a potluck or a picnic, which will allow others to eat it if you don’t like it. I have a sneaking suspicion, however, that you will find that it’s delicious after all….

Strawberry Apple Pie

3 1/2 cups thinly sliced peeled Granny Smith apples (about 3 medium)
1 1/4 cups thinly sliced fresh strawberries
1 T lemon juice
1/2 cup sugar
4 T all-purpose flour
Pastry for double-crust pie (9″)
Topping:
1/2 t sugar
1/8 t ground cinnamon
(or, as in my case, EYEBALL IT. Really? 1/8 teaspoon?!?)
Whipped topping, optional
Ice cream, if you really want to make a splash!

In a large bowl, combine apples and strawberries; drizzle with lemon juice.

Combine sugar and flour; sprinkle over fruit and toss lightly.

The apple/berry mixture fits wonderfully in my favorite bowl. Thanks, Maria!!

Line a 9-in pie plate with bottom pastry; trim even with edge of plate. Add filling.

Roll out remaining pastry to fit top of pie; place over filling. Trim, seal, and flute edges. Cut slits in top. Combine sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over pastry.

Cover edges loosely with foil, or better yet, use a pie crust shield like the one seen here. Bake at 450 for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350; remove foil and bake 35-40 minutes longer or until crust is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool on a wire rack. Garnish with whipped topping if desired, or even with vanilla ice cream. Yield: 6-8 servings.

Notes: After the first 10 minutes of baking, I thought my crust already looked like it was browning, so I left the shield on the edges for another twenty minutes. That still allowed it to brown in the last 15-20 but it wasn’t over done. I’m also glad I *finally* remembered to put a cookie sheet underneath the pie as it baked. Now we won’t smell burnt pie for the next three weeks! (This has only taken me 15 years to learn.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Marta
    May 22, 2011 @ 13:04:18

    This pie looks amazing. I love the taste of strawberries, but the texture of them cooked can be a little off to me. Doing it with Apples sounds like a great idea. We’ll have to do some baking next week! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

