Maybe our invitation got lost in the mail?

Perhaps you got caught up in the whirlwind hoopla of the recent royal wedding of William and Kate, or perhaps you could care less. I have some pretty heavy thoughts on the whole thing that I’ve been rolling around in my head, but that’s a blog post for another day. I enjoyed seeing her dress and watching some of the coverage, but other than that, for us, Friday was a rather usual day. We didn’t get up at 4:00 AM to watch the event and I definitely didn’t make tea and crumpets (although some of the scone recipes that I saw floating around looked pretty tempting! I decided if I was going to try them, however, I would do all of my baking during normal business hours.)

The next day, though, after he and Patrick spend the day mowing the lawns of his active properties and the other kids and I spent the afternoon planting flowers and weeding and finding worms, Todd took the kids to see Gnomeo and Juliet at the dollar theater (which is a mere 1.6 miles from our house. It’s not as close as the video store was from us when we lived in Korea, which we lived above, but it’ll do.). We have a family policy of not going to first-run movies in the theater because, really, who wants to take out a second mortgage on their house to go to a movie that may or may not be worth it. IS any movie worth taking a second mortgage out? (Sounds like a good discussion question.) Like so many other posts, this is not the point. Actually, there really isn’t a point to this post other than to show off some cute pictures of the kids. At the end of the day, that’s good enough for me. After the movie, Todd (in some people’s eyes) bravely took the 6 pack to both Target and Walmart ALONE. With no maternal figure even remotely close by. Amazing, right? Not so much. My husband could handle twice as many as the 6 pack, I believe, and come out relatively unscathed. While they were at Target, they evidently got into the hats and FINALLY we have the point of this post. The pictures reminded me of some of the crazy hats we’ve seen of the women who did attend the royal wedding. Actually, secretly–or not so secretly–I think they might even look better than some of the women at the wedding. I realize I’m getting on in years and may not be at the height of the fashion world, but WHEN did it become in to wear your hat on your forehead instead of on your head (Posh Spice, anyone!? What WAS that thing coming out of her frontis?!) So here are a few shots of mostly Chloe, but not only Chloe, getting in on the wedding day fashion furor.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nonnie
    May 02, 2011 @ 12:56:31

    What fun! Reminds me of the tomemy Bible studyladies did the same thing at T J Maxx. You never outgrow the fun of trying on hats.

    Reply

  2. Nonnie
    May 02, 2011 @ 12:57:34

    Oops! It was the TIME my Bible study………..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

