Easy Ravioli Lasagna (…and when I say easy, I mean *easy*!)

When going through some older photos yesterday, I came upon some of this recipe that we tried a while back (as in…Labor Day weekend last year). For whatever reason, I didn’t get around to posting it then, although this recipe is definitely worth doing so, both for its ease in making and the response I got from my family. It is a simple variation on lasagna and one that was a lot quicker to make. It also allows for you to modify it easily to suit your own tastes. You can use either spaghetti sauce from a jar or homemade, ground beef, turkey, or sausage, and whatever variation of ravioli your family prefers. The next time I make this (which will be sometime within the next week–the pictures have put it back on my menu radar!), I plan to add a layer of fresh spinach to add color and an extra veggie. It is definitely a recipe that is easy enough that you can play with it and make it your own.

Let me show you just how simple it is. Here’s a picture of my trusty Pampered Chef pan with a layer or two already put in. And looky there…I’m cooking on top of my mail. What a great example to put all those nasty rumors to rest that I’m an organized person.

Here is the pan almost ready to go in the oven.   Looks yummy already!  (I’m almost postive that there’s more than 6 paltry oz. of cheese on that baby.  Use your best judgment.  I won’t tell anyone if you use more!)

https://mom2the6pack.files.wordpress.com/2011/04/100_2297.jpg”>

And lastly, here it is hot out of the oven.  I would recommend letting it sit for a few minutes, much like you would for lasagna, for ease in serving.   If you can wait, that is.  Serve with a lovely green salad to mitigate all the cheese.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. I’m so glad today is my day to go grocery shopping!

Ravioli Lasagna

1 pound ground beef
1 jar (28 ounces) spaghetti sauce
1 package (25 ounces) frozen sausage or cheese ravioli
1-1/2 cups (6 ounces) shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

In a skillet, brown ground beef and season to taste; drain. In a greased 2 1/2 qt baking dish, layer a third of the spaghetti sauce, a third of the meat, a third of the ravioli, and a third of the cheese (6 oz of cheese may not be enough!). Repeat layers. Top with remaining sauce and cheese. Cover and bake at 400 for 40-45 minutes. Let stand 5-10 minutes before serving. Yield: 6-8 servings.

**IMPORTANT NOTE** When I made this today, I noticed something that I had suspected yesterday when writing this post. I used that 9×13 pan again and even used a 32 oz. package of ravioli, but had to dip into my second bag to have enough to finish the dish. The same thing happened with the sauce; one jar was not enough. Unlike the cheese, which I openly use too much of, I don’t think I was too generous with either the ravioli or the sauce. So….if you have a small family and adjust this to an 8×8 pan, you won’t have any trouble, but if you have the time and freezer space, it may serve you better to make two pans and use 3 jars of sauce and extra ravioli accordingly. Or just know that you’re going to need those additional ingredients and use the leftover sauce for something else. I like to think ahead, but it doesn’t always work out. OK….now my conscience is assuaged. I couldn’t bear the thought of you, in your kitchen, cursing me out under your breath when realizing you don’t have enough “stuff” to finish this meal. Phew.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bliss
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 13:43:56

    I know what we are having for supper tonight! Thanks!

    Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 16:29:15

    We tried this and it was FABULOUS! We’ll definitely be making it again! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

