Extra! Extra! Read All About It! #5 Loses Tooth #1!!

Today started out as a fairly mundane Wednesday. Even though we didn’t get the massive amounts of snow and ice that our norther neighbors received, we still managed to eek out some weather-related issues that come along with wind gusts. Our power went out at least twice throughout the night and the wind’s howling sounded ghastly. (It was a restless night for a few of us, while most of the kids reported that they hadn’t even heard any of it.)

Thankfully, however, by our usual wake up time, the power had been restored, all was OK with the world, and we were free to carry on with the usual Wednesday activities of school and laundry. With the mound of dirty clothes that welcomed me in the laundry room, I was especially thankful that we had power! Everything was the same, until I heard crying from upstairs while I was changing a load of laundry downstairs. It was Andrew, I knew; he has (like most children) a very distinct cry. And like a good mom of many, I debated for just a split second whether I should drop my transfer from washer to dry and run up there to see what was the matter. In almost the same instant, since I didn’t hear any stomping of feet coming to find me or other little voices desperately hollering my name, I reasoned that he probably was just fine and most likely not bleeding all over the carpet. So I finished my wash load exchange before climbing the stairs back up to the school room.

When I got to the top step, everyone cheered. I knew for certain it wasn’t for me (though, wouldn’t that be nice? just once? to hear “YAY MOM!!! YOU ARE WORKING HARD SO WE CAN HAVE CLEAN UNDERWEAR!! THANK YOU!!! YOU ROCK!!!!” Again, I digress…), but quickly found out that Andrew had just pulled his first loose tooth out all by himself. Wow! We had discovered it was loose just over a week ago, and he was wholly disinterested in doing much about it. After four other tooth-losers around here, I wasn’t in too much of a hurry for the process either. But today apparently was the day for him and with just a little encouragement from Todd, he popped it out all by himself. I realize that losing a tooth isn’t the biggest deal to most, but when you’re five and it’s your first tooth, well, that just takes on a whole different meaning. Andrew is rightly proud of himself and received lots of high fives and cheers from his big brothers and a hug or two from his sisters.

With thoughts of the tooth fairy from Ren and Stimpy firmly in my mind, I’m not sure I want to play that role. I think I’ll let Todd do the honors. πŸ™‚ And with that tooth coming out, we have met another milestone in the Tighe home. The good times just keep on coming.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 15:46:08

    Way to go, Drewbie!!!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

