The party continues

By now it should be painfully obvious just how much we enjoy our sweets around here. I love baking for Christmas, but this year I’m really behind. Not to worry, though…despite having a laundry list of things to do before we leave for Michigan tomorrow morning, I had to carve out some time to make one of my favorite cookies of all time, let alone the “most wonderful time of the year”: Christmas Moo-Moos.

I have to give credit where credit is due. The name of this cookie, Christmas Moo-Moos, is a variation on an absolutely sinful cookie that my friend Lynsay makes. Coming in at more calories than I can even bring myself to type here, the original Moo-moos are a chocolate chip cookie wrapped around a mini Milky Way candy bar. “To die for” doesn’t even begin to describe them. When thinking about Christmas cookies last year, her Moo-Moos came to mind and I started searching for a slightly different variation. What I came up with is easy and delicious. They don’t take that long to make, but take even less time to gobble up (especially when they disappear in groups of 8 like they do around here!).

If you’re looking for something different, try these!

Christmas Moo-Moos

Start with the sugar cookie dough of your choice, either prepared or from scratch:

Unwrap a bag (or 12) of Milky Way minis (Snickers would probably be great too, but I’m a nut-free chef)

The recipe I have says use 1.5 teaspoons of dough, but I just eyeball it. Take a smallish bit of dough and press the candy bar into it. Wrap the dough around the bar until it has a more or less cylindrical shape, with flat bottoms and a rounded edge. When I first made these last year, I rolled them into balls, but their end result shape was NOT appealing. Trust me and shape them like cylinders.

You definitely don’t have to, but I usually roll mine in some sort of colored sugar. Place on lined baking sheet and bake in 350 oven for 10-13 minutes (depending on how much sugar cookie you surrounded the candy bar with). I let them sit on the baking sheet for a minute or two (or 15 if I forget and walk off to switch the loads of laundry or holler at my kids to pick up their dirty socks…again)

Enjoy! As for me, I’ve got to get back and packing and cleaning before we leave. I’m not sure why I picked today to strip everyone’s beds and wash all the sheets and blankets in the house, but here we are. In addition to that, I’m supposed to be cleaning the kitchen and washing the floor and I wanted to have the buckets packed before Todd and I leave for a Christmas party tonight. And yet…I blog….

Leave a Reply

