Uh…honey, do you know where I’ve been keeping my fat pants??

Yeah…so it seems that my posts lately have been centering around food… I’m going to use the holidays as an excuse, but everyone who knows me well knows that I love to make food. If I could, I’d gladly pass off the housekeeping chores and the laundry, but I don’t think I’d like to give up the cooking in my home. Having said that, I wish I didn’t have quite the sweet tooth that I’ve been given. It’s both a blessing and a curse. Today, though, I’m choosing to call it a blessing and share this second recipe of the day with you. I found this recipe just after Chloe was born over three years ago. Because of it, in my immediate postpartum period I was able to still look pregnant! (It’s not necessarily because of the cookie itself, but when you make a double batch every other or every third day, it tends to stay with you….) Again, my kids really like this cookie–especially Hannah, who has been asking for them since I brought home my 12-can cache from Aldi during the Great Pumpkin Scare of the week of October 12, 2010. That was a rough time…I’m glad we all made it through…..

Enjoy! Perhaps you’ll be able to eat them in moderation unlike me, who has apparently become the sponsor of the Leave No Cookie Behind policy.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 c. pumpkin
3/4 c. sugar
1/2 c. oil
1 egg
2 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. milk
1 c. chocolate chips
1 tsp. vanilla
Nuts (optional)

Dissolve baking soda in milk; set aside. In large bowl add pumpkin, sugar, oil, and egg; stir. Add flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and baking soda mixture. Mix well. Stir in chocolate chips and vanilla. Spoon onto cookie sheet. Bake at 375 degrees 10 to 12 minutes or until done.

http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1810,154175-254200,00.html

Leave a Reply

