Let them eat knots!

I am embarrassed to share that I brought dinner to a friend today. The boys and I made a chicken and rice casserole, rolls, a salad, and pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. That isn’t the embarrassing part, though: the part that makes me cringe is that I put her dinner in dishes and bowls that she brought to my house when she brought me dinner for my birthday…..six months ago. How does that happen!? True, we don’t see each other that often, but how difficult can it be to return a few things to a friend that lives about ten minutes away? Throughout the summer, I shuffled her dishes around my kitchen from one corner to another, and every time I moved them, I would think “Come on. Just take them back already!” But summer turned into fall and those three red bowls and 8×8 pyrex remained in my kitchen!

After I heard that she was scheduled to have carpal tunnel surgery, I came up with a plan to finally return those pieces to her, and today was the day I could finally cross this particular thing off my to do list. It was much less embarrassing to give her back the dishes because we filled them with a dinner that she and her family could enjoy while she recovers. While the boys and I rolled dough for the bread we brought to them, I thought maybe others would like to try preparing these sometime this holiday season. They are easy to make because they start with refrigerated biscuits, though they do require some time to roll them out and tie up. My kids love them and they’ve been a hit at the other gathering(s) I’ve taken them. These can be made and frozen, too, if you’re a forward thinker (like I dream of becoming).

Parmesan Knots

1/2 cup oil
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1 1/2 teaspoons dried parsley flakes
1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano
1 teaspoon garlic powder
dash pepper
3 cans (12 oz each) refrigerated buttermilk biscuits

In a small bowl, combine oil, cheese, parsley, oregano, garlic powder, and pepper; set aside. Cut each biscuit in half. Roll each portion into a 6-in. rope; tie in a loose knot. Place on greasted baking sheets. Bake at 450 for 6-8 minutes or until golden brown. Immediately brush with parmesan mixture, then brush again. Serve warm or freeze for up to 2 months. To use frozen rolls: Bake at 350 for 6-8 minutes or until heated through.
Yield: 5 dozen

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. anna
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 16:00:38

    I wish I loved cooking as much as you do……you are my hero! Love ya, Deb.

    Reply

  2. 2pink4blue
    Dec 07, 2010 @ 14:53:25

    Woohoo, Kristin!

    Reply

  3. Maria
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 10:38:30

    This dinner was amazing, AMAZING. I would love the casserole recipe. And I just feel bad that I left dishes in your home that you had to shuffle around for months on end. It seems as though the ideal friend would devise a way to bring her friend a birthday dinner that didn’t require her to bring back the dishes… and yet is ecologically sound (ie no disposible dishes). Hmmm, maybe next time you’ll get something wrapped in… banana leaves? An ice sculpture? Dry ice??? This gives me a project for your next birthday dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

