Snacktime throwdown…but not really

If you’re familiar with the book The Five Love Languages, you’ll know that Gary Chapman speaks of quality time, gift giving, acts of service, words of encouragement, and physical touch and closeness as specific ways that different people give and receive love. My love language, however, I firmly believe is the sixth in the series that for some reason he left out of his list: making food for others. It should come as no surprise then that one of my favorite parts of teaching childbirth classes is making food for snack time. I probably shouldn’t serve as much as I do, but I really enjoy it. I try to keep them healthy and showcase different food groups to give moms alternative choices if they are getting bored with what they eat. Once in a while, however, in every class series, I like to have what I call “cheat week,” where I just throw ‘nutritionary caution’ to the wind.

Having said that, this class series has also brought a baker into our home, and four times now he has brought us delectable treats. The couple own their own cake business, and if you check out their website at http://www.tinkerscakeshop.com, you will see why we have all gone ga-ga for the Tinkers. Last night, they brought amazing truffles and something I’d never heard of before: cake pops. There were collective oohs and aaahs during snack time and everyone agreed that both offerings were delicious! My mixed berry bars were almost untouched, but it was for good reason. When you can choose between dark chocolate and granola….isn’t there really only one choice? I’m hopeful that my couples will recall some of the important information we covered in terms of labor progress last night, but I know for sure that they will easily remember how lovely the chocolate tasted…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sheryl O'Neal
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 16:11:56

    Deb, I enjoyed reading this! We still rave about the soup you made me when I first had Teddy! I wish I had know, then, about the birthing classes! I for sure would have come for the treats (and the tips too)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

