Super excellent Chocolate pumpkin bread

One of our “favorite” places in Taejon, South Korea when we lived there was the Super Excellent Night Club.  What a superlative name!  We never actually partied at the club, but even 13 years later, we still refer to things that are wonderful as “super excellent.”  (At least I do… my husband may silently be thinking that I’ve lost my mind when I do.)  In any case, I would defintely refer to this recipe as my Super Excellent Chocolate Pumpkin Bread recipe.  It is a gem among gems and one that I first made when I was pregnant with Benjamin back in 2002.  We had just moved into a new house at the end of September (the house we still live in), and in the course of 6 weeks, we found a house quite unexpectedly, packed, and moved while I was 8 months pregnant and had three other children aged 4, 2, and 15 months.   It was a whirlwind time in our lives, so it’s no wonder I turned to chocolate to help smooth the transition.   I stumbled upon this recipe as I so often do and can still remember the first batch I made.   It was beyond heavenly and I didn’t have any remorse in eating what seemed like my weight in pumpkin bread, because, after all, when one is 36 weeks pregnant, what’s one more piece of bread going to do in the entire scope of humanity really?  I have shared this recipe many times, and happily post it here so that you, too, can share in the wonderfulness that is this fall treat…. As much as I love it, it’s really amazing that I don’t make it year-round.   On second thought, though, like Christmas Crack (a recipe I will post in a few weeks, with a name appropriately coined by my good friend Amy), it’s better to keep some things seasonal.  

 Chocolate Pumpkin Loaf

3.5 c sugar
1.25 c vegetable oil
3 eggs
1 can (29 oz) solidpack pumpkin
3 squares (1 oz each) unsweetened chocolate, melted and cooled
1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract
3.75 c all-purpose flour
1.5 teaspoons salt
1.5 teaspoons baking powder
1.25 teaspoons baking soda
1.25 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1.25 teaspoons ground cloves
.5 teaspoon ground nutmeg
(I just use 3 t of pumpkin pie spice)
2 c (12 oz) semisweet chocolate chips

In a large bowl, combine sugar and oil. Add eggs; mix well. Stir in the pumpkin, chocolate, and vanilla; mix well. Combine the dry ingredients; stir into pumpkin mixture just until blended. Stir in chips.

Transfer to 3 greased 9x5x3 loaf pans. Bake at 350 for 55-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks. Wrap and freeze (YEAH RIGHT) for up to 6 months. Yield: 3 loaves.

  

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 09:34:06

    Heavenly, and just what my fam needs today. If I can get myself up to make it and not cough all over the batter. On second thought, if I DO happen to cough all over it, does that mean I don’t have to share? 😉

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 14:01:58

    Gonna make a batch today, hopefully! (btw….CHRISTMAS CRACK…..HILARIOUS!!!)

    Reply

  3. Rebecca
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 07:52:16

    Baked this weekend, and YUM! Loved it! Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

