Bruschetta fit for the gods

I thought it would be fitting, on this her birthday, to post a recipe that my friend Rachel shared with me and made during one of her visits here a few years back. During this trip, she brought her three amazing kids and Deanna, another dear friend from Hillsdale. It was a memorable few days, and not just because of the good eats, but this treat stands out in my mind as a definite highlight. As usual, I don’t have exact amounts for the ingredients, but I think you’ll be fine to eyeball and guage how much you need to create these delectable yummies for yourself! With all due respect to Rachel, this is how I remember her making it and how I make it now. If I’ve made any changes, I can’t remember them!

Bruschetta

roma tomatoes, finely diced
vidalia onion, finely chopped
fresh basil, finely chopped
balsamic vinegar (a few splashes depending on how many tomatoes you chop)
salt and pepper to taste
shredded italian cheese blend
multigrain french bread (I used Kroger’s and it was good)
olive oil

Combine chopped tomatoes, onions, basil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper in a bowl. Allow flavors to incorporate while preparing the bread. Stir occasionally. Don’t resist taste testing!

Slice bread into 1/2″ slices; lay out on an ungreased cookie sheet. Brush one side lightly with olive oil. Place under the broiler for just enough time for the bread to toast. Remove and flip bread over; brush other side with olive oil and toast again. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly.

Top each piece of bread with small amount of tomato mixture and sprinkle cheese over the top. Broil just until cheese starts to melt. Allow to cool just for a minute (if you can wait that long).

Leave a Reply

