favorite recipe friday–procrastinator style

Is it Saturday already?!?!

Despite good intentions of getting together with every one of my childbirth classes after all of their babies have arrived, I’m sad (and embarrassed!) to say that it’s actually happened very few times out of the 30 groups I’ve taught. To be sure, some groups “gel” better than others and want to see each other after the 12 weeks, but there are others that probably just want to move on. In 2005, however, when I was pregnant with Andrew, I had the pleasure of teaching 3 classes that year before he was born that were all special. I had two of them running at the same time since there seemed to be a baby boom (or an interest in Bradley® class boom), and they were somehow linked through knowing each other beforehand or other situations. I am blessed to keep in touch with almost all of them even today–and many of them keep in touch with each other. As a teacher, that’s a good feeling!

I put all of that background in just to say that these classes were ones that actually did have a reunion. We met up a year after our babies were born to share birth stories, admire how cute everyone was (the babies, of course), talk about how life had changed in just one short year, and of course, to EAT. (if you’ve taken my class, you know that I like to make snacks.) One of the families brought this delicious corn dip to the party and I couldn’t eat enough of it–neither could anyone else. It was fantastic, but it was a while before I got her recipe for it, so I went hunting for my own version. It’s well worth trying, and definitely easy enough to put together. I have made it with and without the chiles, so don’t feel like you have to include those. Every once in a while I just get a craving for this cool and creamy treat, and today was that day! (I had a little help from Laura, my sister-in-law, who had the craving first and asked for the recipe a few days ago.)

Spicy Corn Dip

1 (8 ounce) container sour cream
1 cup mayonnaise
2 (11 ounce) cans Mexican-style corn
4 green onions, chopped
3 jalapeno peppers, seeded and minced
1 (7 ounce) can diced green chiles
1 1/4 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

In a medium bowl, mix together sour cream, mayonnaise, corn, green onions, jalapeno chile peppers, green chile peppers and cheese. Allow flavors to combine at least one hour before serving (more if you have them). Serve with tortilla chips or veggies. Yield: 4 cups

*Quick note: 2 things I add to this recipe are minced garlic and paprika to taste. FYI

One of my favorite bowls...even though it has a chip taken out of it....

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 16:20:03

    Yeah! LOVE this!!!!!! Thx!

    Reply

  2. Nneka
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 14:22:49

    Deb i still can’t find ‘Mexican -style corn’!!! I made it with fiesta corn and loved it but would like to try it like you make it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

