My favorite toy of summer

This past Christmas, since Todd and I bought a new TV for the house, we decided that we weren’t going to exchange gifts with each other. (Isn’t that a dangerous thing to do? Doesn’t one half of such an agreement always bend or break the rules?) Being true to form, Todd did exactly that and, after the kids had opened their gifts, he came around the corner with something hidden behind his back. I have to say I was underwhelmed when he revealed his gag-gift-of-sorts gift to me: an electric fly swatter. Really?! We laughed about it and I was relieved that he had bent the rules for a $2 gift. 🙂 Since it was December in Kentucky, there weren’t any flies for us to try out this new toy, so it sat on top of the refridgerator…..that is, until the weather warmed up.

If you have kids, you probably are aware by now that there has to be a part of their brain that doesn’t develop until…well, they have their own kids that tells them to SHUT THE DOOR WHEN COMING IN OR OUT OF A HOUSE. I’m thinking of having Todd wire some sort of device to the doors in our home so that every time they are opened, the person is treated to a recording of my incessant “Please close the door behind you!!!” so that I don’t have to repeat it 427 thousand times a day. Until that day, however, a natural consequence of having open doors is that flies get into the house. I had almost forgotten about the swatter when an especially pesky fly was taunting me one day and a light bulb went off in my head. I got the electric swatter down, put batteries in it (2 D batteries, so it’s not the weeny electric fly swattin’ variety), and embarked on a wild goose chase to catch the fly. I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect when and if I caught it, but I hate them enough that I was willing to find out.

You may or may not know that I have no depth perception, so it didn’t take long for me to realize that although this swatter was a great idea on paper, I was a miserable failure at actually judging where the fly was and aiming to get him. (Imagine a lot of wild, aimless swinging. Thankfully, my first attempt was done in private with no audience.) After what seemed like forever, I managed to catch him in my lair and was “shocked” to hear the loud pop that resulted! Wow! The kids heard it too and came in to see what had happened. My first fly catch!!

From then on, I have learned to love my Christmas gift (not quite as much as the TV we bought, but you know…each tool has its own unique purpose). I still stink at catching flies, though, but Patrick is a fly catchin’ king. He is so good at getting them with one swipe, so I usually give the priviledge of popping them to him. Since the kids know of my lack of depth perception issues, if I do start swinging the swatter, they all duck and cover, combined with a holler of “Mama! Watch out for us!!” thrown in for good measure. To my credit, I have only caught flies thus far; no children.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Smith
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 11:12:29

    oh Deb! i am rolling thinking of all your kids ducking for cover cuz moms got the fly swatter! too funny!

    Reply

  2. Angela Weber
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 11:28:40

    Deb, that’s hilarious and I’m totally getting one for Jason for Christmas!!!!

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 13:47:26

    Tell me where to get one….I HAVE to get one for Ralph. He is hilarious trying to catch flies in our house. I am able to ignore them to some extent, but it his mission to kill any fly that gets in our house. He would LOVE this. Hilarious story! Keep ’em comin’! Love ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

