Favorite Recipe Friday: Chicken Pot Pie

Without a doubt, one of my favorite recipes of all time has to be one that I found while searching for something easy and yummy to take to a new mom. I didn’t create this recipe (and in truth, I have created very few recipes; I just find the good ones), but I have made it more times than I can count. My dad requests it almost every time he visits, which makes meal planning easy. It’s just another meal that is simple to make (and in large quantities) in my Pampered Chef deep dish baker, pictured below. I use it for so many things: quiche, taco dip, and of course, a wicked huge deep dish apple pie. The recipe that is posted here, though, is for a smaller pie. I figure not everyone has to feed a small army at every meal. If I’m not using my baker, I would use a regular pie plate for this recipe.

Chicken Pot Pie

1 10 oz. package frozen mixed vegetables
1/3 c. butter
1/3 c. flour
1/3 c. chopped onions
1 potato, peeled and diced
½ tsp. salt
¼ tsp. pepper
1 ¾ c. chicken broth
2/3 c. milk
3 c. chicken breasts, cooked and shredded
2 pie crusts (9 in.)

In a large skillet, melt butter and add onions, potato, flour, salt, and pepper. Stir and cook until bubbly, remove from heat. Stir in chicken broth and milk. Stir constantly and heat to boiling. Boil one minute while stirring. Stir in veggies and chicken.

Prepare bottom pie crust and pour chicken mixture into crust. Add top crust and crimp edges or pie. Prick top of crust.

Bake at 425 degrees for about 45 minutes. Cool 5 to 10 minutes before serving.

Chicken pot pies can also be frozen before baking for use later. When ready to use, thaw in refrigerator and bake as directed above.

Notes from me: I have found that cooking the potatoes once they are diced works better than just hoping they cook through in the pie. I boiled them in some broth I had leftover after cooking the chicken for about 5 minutes before adding them to the butter mixture in the first step.

Pot Pie ready to serve

My beloved deep dish baker after the pie was devoured

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 23:06:41

    I am trying this next week!

    Reply

  2. Anna
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 21:20:18

    Just tried this tonight and my pan looked alot like yours when we were done! Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

